Application Process

The application process to become an eCMID Accredited Vessel Inspector has been kept as simple as possible. However the onus is on you to provide the necessary documentary evidence by way of experience and competence to support your completed application and to prove your case to the Assessor.

You may apply for accreditation in up to six vessel classifications: LNG-fuelled, jack-up, pipe and cable layers, DP, general vessels and MISW (small workboats).

Once you have read the eCMID FAQs and studied the eCMID accreditation fees and are ready to make your application, this is what you need to do.

Step 1. Click on the link below to download and open the application form in word doc format.

Step 2. Complete the form ensuring all relevant sections are completed.

Step 3. Return the form by email or by post including all supporting documentation.

Step 4. Your application will only be processed once payment has been received.

If you have any questions, please use the Contact Form for assistance.

Download the application form here:

eCMID-Accreditation-Application-Form – V8 (word doc format)

There is a total of 240 points available in five sections. To become accredited you need to achieve a minimum of 168 points (70%).

The maximum number of points available under the five sections is as follows:
• Your credentials: 40 points
• Your approach to safety: 50 points
• Your audit, inspection and administration techniques: 60 points
• Your technical and operation experience: 40 points
• Your communication and interpersonal skills: 50 points

You then have a couple of options at this point.
• You may appeal the decision to the Marine Surveying Academy Appeals Panel in writing by email within 14 days of being notified you have been unsuccessful.
• If you fail narrowly (65% to 69%) we will give you the opportunity to provide further evidence to the Assessor before finalising the decision.